About UsThe BookThe MovieParticipateOur PartnersContact UsHomepage
 


BRINGING SIOUXLAND TOGETHER AROUND ONE GREAT BOOK

2014 Book Discussions & Special Events

Date/Time
Event/ Notes
Place
Address
Monday, February 10
11:45 am
repeats at 1:15 pm
Book Discussion
Lifelong Learning Book Club
Fee: $8 includes lunch, led by Kathy Kelly
Membership not required
Wells Fargo Room, L110
WITCC
4647 Stone Ave
Sioux City, IA

Monday, February 17 2:30 pm

Book Discussion
Regency Square Care Center 3501 Dakota Ave
South Sioux City, NE
Saturday, February 22
2:00 pm
The Story of the Orphan Train,
a dramatization based on actual accounts, with storyteller/ actress Pippa White
Sioux City Public Library
The Wilbur Aalfs (Main) Library
529 Pierce St
Sioux City, IA
Sunday, March 2
2:00 pm

Tunes from the Orphan Train Era
with musicians Mike Langley, Jack Langley and Walter Peterson
Betty Strong Encounter Center 900 Larsen Park Rd,
Sioux City, IA

Monday, March 3
11:00 am

Book Discussion
Open Book Club
Sioux City Public Library
Perry Creek Branch Library

2912 Hamilton Blvd
Sioux City, IA

Monday, March 3
6:30 pm

Book Discussion
Open Book Club
Sioux City Public Library
Morningside Branch Library

4005 Morningside Ave
Sioux City, IA

Thursday, March 6
10 am

Book Discussion
Book Club
Siouxland Center for Active Generations (members only)

313 Cook St
Sioux City, IA

Monday, March 10
6:30 pm

Book Discussion
Cover to Cover Book Club
South Sioux City Public Library

2121 Dakota Ave
South Sioux City, NE

Sunday, March 16
2 pm
Book Discussion Green Gables 1800 Pierce St,
Sioux City, IA

Monday, March 17
7:30 pm

The Orphan Train as seen through children's and teen literature, by Carole Johnston, author of Trains West: Stories of the Children Who Rode the Orphan Trains from New York City, 1854-1929 UPS Auditorium, Lincoln Center, Morningside College

3627 Peters Ave
Sioux City, IA

Thursday, March 20
1:00 pm
Book Discussion
Emeritus at NorthPark 2562 Pierce St
Sioux City, IA
Friday, March 21
12 Noon
Trains West: Stories of the Children Who Rode the Orphan Trains from New York City, 1854-1929 by Carole Johnston. The author reads from her book and shares from interviews with Orphan Train riders and their families. Hickman Dining Room in the Olsen Student Center,
Morningside College
3609 Peters Avenue
Sioux City, IA
Monday, March 24
1 pm
Book Discussion Whispering Creek Senior Living 2609 Nicklaus Blvd, Sioux City, IA
Tuesday, April 8
7 pm
Book Discussion Caribou Coffee 2939 Hamilton Blvd
Sioux City, IA

Monday, April 14
1 pm

Book Discussion The Pointe at Sunrise

36 Eastview Dr
Sioux City, IA

Friday, April 18
1:00 pm

Excess Baggage: Riding the Orphan Train by Charlotte Endorf. Dressed in period attire, author Endorf entertains and educates all ages. Sponsored by Nebraska Humanities

South Sioux City Public Library

2121 Dakota Ave
South Sioux City, NE

Wednesday, April 30
1:30 pm

The Orphan Trains Documentary
(PBS) An overview of the Children's Aid Society and filmed interviews with orphan train riders; intro by Margot Chesebro

Cargill Auditorium, Entrance 14, WITCC

4647 Stone Ave
Sioux City, IA

 

 
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux