Awards category: Description:
Agatha Awards Agatha Winners feature amateur sleuths and are selected by attendees at the annual mystery convention sponsored by Malice Domestic every spring. The winner receives a teapot.
Bram Stoker Awarded by the Horror Writers of America for achievement in horror publishing. Named in honor of Bram Stoker, author of Dracula.
(Randolph) Caldecott Medal The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Catalog Search | Library Brochure Get Adobe Reader!
Christy Awards: Best Contemporary Novel The Christy Awards, named for the novel by Catherine Marshall, were started in 1999 by a group of Christian publishers. This is fiction that affirms a Christian viewpoint in the characters and story. Awards are given in nine categories.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
Edgar Allan Poe Award: Best Novel The Edgar Award is presented by the Mystery Writers of America. The "Edgar" is named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe.
The Hammet Prize Awarded by the International Association of Crime Writers for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a U.S. or Canadian author. The award is named in honor of Dashiell Hammett.
Hugo The oldest science fiction award, the Hugo Award is named for Hugo Gernsback, a major writer and spokesman for this genre. It is awarded by popular vote of the Science Fiction Society.
Indies Choice Book Award Formerly known as the "BookSense Book Award", is awarded annually by the American Booksellers Association for titles booksellers most enjoyed hand selling to their customers.
Man Booker Prize (Formerly called the "Booker Prize") A British award for the world's best novel written in English. The Man Booker Prize is awarded by the Book Trust of the United Kingdom.
National Book Award Awarded by the National Book Foundation for a work written by a U.S. citizen. The National Book award is America's pre-eminent literary prize.
Nebula Awards: Best Novel The Neubla Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.
(John) Newbery Medal The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children..
Catalog Search | Library Brochure Get Adobe Reader!
PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction The PEN/Faulkner is the largest annual juried prize for fiction in the United States.
Pulitzer Prize: Fiction
(all categories)
The Pulitzer Prize is awarded for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.
RITA Awards (romance) The purpose of the RITA® contest is to promote excellence in the romance genre by recognizing outstanding published romance novels and novellas.
The Spur Award: Best Novel of the West Awarded by the Western Writers of America for distinguished writing about the American west.
529 Pierce St.
4005 Morningside Ave.
2912 Hamilton Blvd.
Sioux City Iowa 51101
Sioux City Iowa 51106
(Lower B, Plaza Professional Center)
Sioux City Iowa 51104
Monday-Wednesday 9am-8pm
Monday-Thursday 10am-6pm
Thursday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Friday-Saturday 10am-5pm
Monday-Friday 10:30am-5:30pm
Sunday (Sept-May) 1pm-5pm