Newbery Award Winner Now Available

Newbery award winner now available

The American Library Association awarded the 2012 Newbery Medal to Jack Gantos for Dead End in Norvelt. In the historic town of Norvelt, Pennsylvania, twelve-year-old Jack Gantos spends the summer of 1962 grounded for various offenses until he is assigned to help an elderly neighbor with a most unusual chore involving the newly dead, molten wax, twisted promises, Girl Scout cookies, underage driving, lessons from history, typewriting, and countless bloody noses.

The Newbery Medal, first offered as an incentive for better quality in children’s books, honors John Newbery, a famous 18th century publisher and seller of children’s books. It is awarded annually to the author of the “most distinguished contribution to American literature for children, published in the United States, during the preceding year” by the Association for Library Services to Children, American Library Association. Eligibility is limited to residents or citizens of the United States.


Family Storytime

Open Book Club

Online Book Clubs


529 Pierce St.
4005 Morningside Ave.
2912 Hamilton Blvd.
Sioux City Iowa 51101
Sioux City Iowa 51106
(Lower B, Plaza Professional Center)
Sioux City Iowa 51104
Monday-Wednesday 9am-8pm
Monday-Thursday 10am-6pm
Thursday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Friday-Saturday 10am-5pm
Monday-Friday 10:30am-5:30pm
Sunday (Sept-May) 1pm-5pm